Inside Out

This time
Gave the heart away
Chastise
Took the wrong way
Got my hands tied
Take it all away
From the inside out

I made it
I went all the way
Go home
Take the long way
In my mind’s eye
I can’t see anything
It’s all inside out

You spent so long
Protecting yourself from anything
That might hurt you
You’re invincible
But I wonder
Who will protect you from yourself

I’m the strawman
Set up to bash
I’m in flames now
Such a perfect match
My eyes open
Got my face slapped
From the inside out

This time
Time to wake up
Got my back turned
Feel the fatal thrust
Got my surprise
It’s all made up
From the inside out

You spent so long
Protecting yourself from anything
That might hurt you
You’re invincible
But I wonder
Who will protect you from yourself

Published by:

Ward Clever

I’m a work of fiction come to life, a whore who can touch unicorns, a ghost manifest, a sensitive empath with a dark side, a watcher of the skies, a healer of healers, a lovable asshole, a guy who writes a nice bio. Welcome to this thing. I am a little teapot, and I put my whole self in and shake it all about. That’s what it’s all about.

Categories Poetry/LyricsTags , , , , , 6 Comments

6 thoughts on “Inside Out”

What do you think?

