Yesterday, Time To Get Up

Celebration
When I was young
Expectation
It would never end
I had a feeling
The dreams I had
Would all come true
And there was you
Your name was Yesterday
We conquered all
They stood before us
Could not ignore us
Found my dreams
Were leaking out
Reality
So let it be
Time to get up now
Yesterday
You’ve been in my bed too long
This wasn’t what I thought it would be
Don’t get me wrong
It’s just time to move on
I chose weapons
From the past
Tried to duel
I was a fool
Thought of condition
Self-control
Was not enough
And there was love
Time to get up now
Yesterday
You’ve been in my head too long
This isn’t what I thought it would be
Don’t get me wrong
It’s just time to move on
I dragged it out
I stretched it
I stretched it
I stretched it
Until it snapped back in my face
The things I bought
When I was young
It’s hard to sell them
What can I tell them
The ones who need me
The ones who care
Family
So let it be
Time to get up now
Yesterday
Are you awake?
Are you listening?
Time to get up now
Yesterday
You’ve been dead for too long
This isn’t what I thought it would be
Don’t get me wrong
It’s just not working out
Time to get up now
Yesterday
You should have already been gone
This isn’t what I thought it would be
Don’t get me wrong
You’re fine and everything
But tomorrow’s coming and
It’s just time to move on

What do you think?

