Morning Coffee Smell

I built a bridge from me to you
You burned it
I had an epiphany and shared
You spurned it
I had a vision of us both
Yours was solo
I had the most brilliant light
You were shadow

I made a promise to us both
You broke it
I took back an unkind word
You spoke it
I said I’d always be with you
You didn’t stay
I was the cozy fire at night
You were the day

I was the morning coffee smell
You stayed in bed
I moved so far you had to yell
You whispered instead
I slowly took one step away
You turned around
‘Wish for my return’ I prayed
You made no sound

12 thoughts on “Morning Coffee Smell”

      1. Reminds me of a song lyric by Robert Kraft. I think it’s from Who’s Seducin’ Who? “Good looks education and money, so often wasted on the slow. All good things in moderation and moderation is the first to go.”

        Liked by 1 person

Share your amazing thoughts with me!

