The Hidden Messages

I received all the hidden messages

From the hidden messenger

Who had been hiding
As the job requires

A pile of unopened envelopes
Addressed to me
With a note that told me
They had been there for ages
Right in the box

But they were hidden
I thought to myself
Not exactly beating me
Over the head

The first one was a surprise
The second one was more of a surprise
But from then on
The messages could have remained hidden
I thought to myself

Subtle hints were written in the sky
Nuanced wordplay appeared in parades
Large print displayed on steamy mirrors
Okay
I get it

But I do not want to invest
In Nigerian princes
I do not want to enlarge anything
Or lose anything quickly

So I used the secret messages
To start fires
That my love and I could sit beside
And warm ourselves by
So the messages did have some use
After all

Share your amazing thoughts with me!

