I dance the way we did that night by the fireside

You left an airy impression when you left the stage of our love

The fire keeps me warm while the music plays a song that was never meant for us

The drink warms my insides as I feel something I never felt with us

The floating embers fill the air with a golden light that I never saw with us

I remember that cold and quiet night with only the light from the stars between clouds

With no moon and no music, no warmth and no light, I reached out to you

But you turned away, looked away, went away

Your spirit reserved for someone else while your shadow pointed at me and laughed

I guess nothing of you realized you were pointing up from a low place

It takes standing on the treetops to make big plans for us

And it makes me sad to see you laughing while your hole fills up with rain

