Lanterns On The Horizon

I’m sorry when things don’t come out right
But I’m afraid I’m going to have to love you forever
You have no say in the matter
You might change my location
Or whether we embrace
But I cannot stop loving you
And I refuse as well

The words I write sound hollow
They don’t seem to do justice
To the way I actually feel
So when you read this
Know that my touch is required
To fully appreciate
At least some of the feeling
I intend to convey

That dock
Those lights
That sunset waits for us
Raising glasses in a toast
Raising a family
Raising our hopes
And fulfilling them
That lifetime waits for us
Those moments strung together
Like floating lanterns
On a sea of tranquility
Lighting a floating path
Towards the rising moon
That moment waits for us
Come with me and share it
My love

2 thoughts on “Lanterns On The Horizon”

What do you think?

