Inside shapes place the beast to guard the jagged treasure box of feelings
While the thief has secretly stolen them already
Barbarians and assassins conspire to inter them post mortem
Time of death… resurrected
A cotillion of skeletons jumble their molecules through cellular tissue messages and moistened lip caresses
They drink
This one saying ‘if you’re going to cheat, cheat death’
With all the feeling wrung from the cloth of my soul, I am already dead and reborn
This one saying ‘if you’re going to steal, steal her heart”
With her heart blackened or missing or null, only a promissory note remains
This one saying ‘if you’re going to lie, lie with the one you love’
With love itself belied by the lie of love, confuted by compromise, love sleeps alone
They drink a toast to the broken jagged rocks of love I have unwittingly cast myself upon
They drink a toast to the life blood leaving my body in a melancholy gush
They drink to a new associate, welcoming me with broken hearts

