The Long Happiness

Why do so many seek pleasure through pain?
It is a sign of living outside ourselves, instead of in the now.
We remember pleasure and pain
We remember that when pleasure ends, it hurts
When pain ends, it feels good
We get used to pain and pleasure when they happen for a long time
But the shock of them suddenly trading places
We don’t soon forget
So we seek the fleeting moments of pleasure that follow sustained suffering
Seek to avoid pleasure because of the fleeting moments of pain that follow its end
Instead of seeking the long happiness
And simply living in the now

20 thoughts on “The Long Happiness”

                    1. That’s always part of my intention when I get into a person’s life. I ought to make them remember me even at their saddest and know if I would be with them I would enlighten their day.

                      Liked by 1 person

Share your amazing thoughts with me!

