Regrets Get Me High

These things just slip out
Without thinking at all
These things just happen
Without a care in the world
Until it hits you
It hits you

I never thought when I woke up
I would have whispered your name
The trouble with your reluctance
Is all the things I should have said
Came out wrong
But that’s okay

Regrets get me high
Regrets get me high
I may never come down
Regrets get me high

I never thought that by revealing myself
I would have cast you aside
I always assumed we’d be together
Until life flashed before my eyes
This fever dream ended
But that’s okay

Regrets get me high
Regrets get me high
I may never come down
Regrets get me high

Along the way I learned what not to say
I could never have changed
I wouldn’t have it any other way
Even if I wanted to
I probably deserve this pain
Because it feels so good

Regrets get me high
Regrets get me high
I may never come down
Regrets get me high

6 thoughts on “Regrets Get Me High”

  1. That’s funny. I’ve been having similar thoughts. Maybe it’s an end of year thing, maybe I have no idea. (Well, except, they don’t get me high, the remedy (ie chocolate and wine) does. *gentle smile*)
    Thought provoking.
    Love your style, as usual.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I might have said this in an email, but I sometimes post things I have written months or years ago. I didn’t say this, but I sometimes write poems that are set up like songs, but never actually have a melody.

          Liked by 1 person

Share your amazing thoughts with me!

