Who The Hell Do I Think I Am, Anyway?

I found that loneliness I thought I’d lost
What am I doing up here on this cross?
(I’m not guilty)
How’d I get the nails in every limb?
How did I turn into one of them?
(Please help me)

A soul trapped in a body of evidence
Does outrage ever give way to penitence?
(Please forgive me)
How’d I get this image of myself?
How’d my self-control become a cry for help?
(Please help me)

When you tell me what you want
And I do it willingly
If it’s never good enough
Then why bother telling me?
When you give me many choices
And I choose one of those
If it’s wrong no matter what
Then what do you propose?

I found that suffering I talk so much of
Why do I think I know anything about love?
(Oh, really?)
Why’s my self-image mastery and expertise?
How can I give such ‘sage advice’ from on my knees?
(I tried to tell you)

A vicious cycle disguised as intelligence
Does anything I say make any sense?
(I don’t get you)
How’d I mistake ‘full of myself’ for ‘full of life’?
How did I not see my own hand on the knife?
(My own worst enemy)

When you tell me what you want
And I do it willingly
If it’s never good enough
Then why bother telling me?
When you give me many choices
And I choose one of those
If it’s wrong no matter what
Then what do you propose?

I found I can’t trust a course of action that I choose
Why do I beat myself up so, when both sides lose?
(So entertaining)
How’d I come to think of myself as ‘savant’
When I can’t give anybody what they want?
(Do you even know me?)

A darkness that’s disguised itself as light
If I know I’m wrong, why keep saying I’m right?
(What is your problem?)
“I’ve lost my angel’s wings” is what I like to say
How did I see golden feathers at my feet of clay?
(Get over yourself)

When I figure out what I am
And I live it purposefully
Will it be good enough for you?
That’s good enough for me
When you point out my pretensions
And I finally accept
Will it balance intuition
With intellect?

7 thoughts on “Who The Hell Do I Think I Am, Anyway?”

  1. Seriously dude…… I don’t know from where you get this titles and writing stufff……. Really simply amazing…… You have amazing and beautiful way to express your feelings or your thoughts……. Your posts are deeply effectively expressive……. Great work ward….. Loved reading it seriously amazing…….😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You have that effect on every reader…. And seriously i love what you write…. You have your own way to attract readers…. And hope the changes which you are going through have a happy ending….. And i agree with you that this blogs which we write helps a lot….. I’m also going through a disaster change….. But only writing blogs will help but you should share your feelings or what you are thinking to someone… It will help you a lot….. Keep smiling… And be happy…… Life is scattered into pieces … Some are good times and some are having bad timing …keep smiling 😊😊☺☺☺

        Liked by 1 person

Share your amazing thoughts with me!

