I absolve you of blame
You
In the reflection
Part of my insides

I remove your responsibility
You
Shadows behind
Sitting on stairs

Flogging my own mind
Until the blood runs cold
Punishing myself
Head space filling with demons

I have tried to listen
To the voices in my head
I don’t think I can see their side
I have cried from missing
Choices in my past
I am starting to take their side
Against myself

I lose credibility
You
In the rejection
Thorn in my side

I choose invisibility
You
Self-deception
Denying what I hide

Blocking my thoughts
Until shadows of silence
Shiver away
Leaving me empty

I have tried to listen
To the voices in my head
I don’t think I can see their side
I have cried from missing
Choices in my past
I am starting to take their side
Against myself

I shed my second skin
Did I shed my soul
Happiness comes from within
But not when I lose control

I have tried to listen
To the voices in my head
I’ll never take their side
I have wiped my tears forever
I have chosen to live
I will start by living
With myself

 

