Object Permanence

This is the first of the four stages in Piaget’s theory of cognitive development (1954, 1964). It extends from birth to approximately 2 years, and is a period of rapid cognitive growth.1

What do you hold behind your back?
The straws you grasp at?
The issues too large to sweep under the rug?
You believe I will forget?
This isn’t really happening?
I didn’t really see what I saw?
I’m only imagining what you did?
Something like that…

The infant develops an understanding of the world through trial and error using their senses and actions. Through the processes of assimilation and accommodation actions become progressively adapted to the world.

My focus becomes sharper when problems are interred
I hear shovels digging in your sacred ground
Are you trying to bury our every past?
We may step lightly, tiptoeing towards salvation
Every piece you have kept hidden is a land mine
Which rearms itself upon detonation
Silence does not equate to safety
When the beast that hunts us
Permeates the very air we breathe

Infancy is characterized by extreme egocentrism, where the child has no understanding of the world other than their own current point of view. The main development during this stage is the understanding that objects exist and events occur in the world independently of one’s own actions (‘the object concept’, or ‘object permanence’).

Your accusations are my freedom flowing from your mouth
I hear your venomous words
I smell your fear
I taste the pain you unleash
I feel a searing numb
So what makes you think an out of sight, out of mind strategy
Makes all these things invisible
And forgotten about?

 

  1. Text in italics taken from here.
5 thoughts on “Object Permanence”

      1. I just really like your concept of using a piece of science, ie. cognitive development, splitting it, and then filling the “gaps” with related poetry. A Really interesting idea (and also a fascinating read about human brain development) It is the mixture of factual science and descriptive poetry that caught my eye!

        Hope that makes sense!

        Liked by 1 person

Share your amazing thoughts with me!

