Five Minute Phoenix

When it’s too much to bear
I take the bitterest pause
Reflect on my center bullets
Unexploded ordnance requiring disposal
I don’t need to fire them at anyone
I don’t need to get revenge
I don’t want to hurt anyone
I just want them to stop hurting me

I stand up and I’m nothing
Look how much I talk about myself
Can we talk about anything but this?
Can it ever be something else?
I’m a five minute phoenix
Rising from my own ashes
Perpetually changing
Learning how to live

I have trouble unloading myself
So I just shoot into the sky
Except instead of the bullets going up
It’s me
I don’t need to ever touch the ground
I don’t need to rise above it all
I don’t want to get along
I just want it over

 

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Phoenix”

Share your amazing thoughts with me!

