The Sun Went Down While I Was Chasing Shadows

Mostly streaks of red
Whatever else she has this time
I drive in the evening
Death From Above 1979
I’m making happiness
Especially mine
I’m just relaxing
In the cooling twilight
All four windows down
All five senses on fire
All nine lives ahead of me
All the time in the world

Standing right behind me
The entire time
I never knew or noticed
Just thought it looked right
I’m just a shadow
Backlit and backdated
I’m never gonna die
It’s too late for that anyway
All four windows down
All five senses on fire
All nine lives ahead of me
All the time in the world

Now it’s time for the fakery
Spend some money make it all okay
Be the man I’m supposed to be
So all those feelings don’t get in the way
Why are so many people only interested
In the box somebody comes in
While the present and accounted for
Sits there entirely unplayed with
All four windows down
All five senses on fire
All nine lives ahead of me
All the time in the world
All your words are inside of me
All the timing is wrong
All this time is on my side
I hope it doesn’t take very long

Share your amazing thoughts with me!

