Our recipe book lays open
Like a slightly turned down bed
We gather what we will need
Sirens go by, dopplering
Silently we wish healing for the victims
The two of us, victims of circumstance
Have no allies tonight
These disparate ingredients
May reveal me as the spy in our midst
I stir, but nothing can mix this
Not without more light and heat
You sit at the table
Making helpful suggestions
About just exactly how
To poison us both
I awaken to a clean kitchen
We went out last night
Returning after hours
Leaving it all behind
Blending our flavors
Tangling our elixirs in sips and swallows
Tasting each other, salty and sweet
Drinking your sweat and wetness
Just enough for intoxicating magic
Prepared just right
Served to you in generous portions
I make sure you have your fill
I glance at your side
You have gone into the depths of the house
Decriminalizing happiness, I find you
We are both ready for that midnight meal
That only two can make
It is always just enough
To satisfy our aching hunger

