Our eyes make the light
Thought some from days of old
It won’t explain the darkness
It can’t explain the cold
Hung from shimenawa
Dangling from torii
I am the shide
That’s lightning, believe me
Deep beneath the waves
Sun won’t penetrate
Ocean casts a shadow
Under crushing weight
Phosphorescent creatures
Luminescent bones
Too deep down for us
They happily make their homes

But light shines from your eyes
Light shines from your eyes
Standing in your spotlight
Uncomfortable surprise
Light shines from your eyes
Light shines from your eyes
Fathoms underwater
I believed your lies

I come up too quick
I might get the bends
I might have to rethink
Who I consider friends
A temporary thing
Each day I’m reborn
Neither of us changed
Sun comes up every morning
Bears are hibernating
Creatures gone to sleep
All our conversations
Have gotten in too deep
All our reservations
Cancellation fee
I don’t care where we stay
I just want you and me

But light shines from your eyes
Light shines from your eyes
Scanning with your searchlight
See through my disguise
Light shines from your eyes
Light shines from your eyes
I don’t mean to hurt you
I apologize

