Life, The Road, And The 5%

I don’t like melons. Never really have. They just have a taste that I cannot stand. It literally makes me gag. I can’t explain it, but I just don’t. Watermelons, cantaloupe, honeydew, even cucumbers – they’re all disgusting. And just like that, I don’t like some people. I can’t explain it, but I just don’t.

But to be fair, some people don’t like me for the same reasons. In fact, I figure it’s about 5% of people I encounter. And acceptance of this fact is one part of my self-esteem. If I work a bit trying to get someone to like me, but no matter what I do they just don’t, then fuck it – they’re in that 5%. Nothing about me, per se. We just don’t click. This is everyone in general, interpersonal interactions.

However, at the other end, I figure about 5% of people love me no matter what the hell I do. And there’s some other groups, maybe 20% at each end, who dislike/like me, depending on what I’m doing at the time. That’s half. The other half are right in the middle. They treat me like a buffet, taking what they like and leaving what they don’t.

To me, that’s the way it is, and it’s true for everyone. The percentages might be different for other people, but the general principle is the same.

If you find yourself wondering why this guy or that woman or this other person doesn’t like you no matter what you do, think about kim chee. Some people love it. I do not. Nothing will change my mind. And nothing will change that person’s mind about you. So stop trying.

In fact, stop trying to make everyone like you, and accept that some people never will, and your life will suddenly get a whole lot easier to deal with. You will be able to relax, and you will have less stress. As a result, some of the other 95% will shift that much more in your direction.

Think about it. When you are driving and you come upon some construction, do you drive over it anyway, trying to get the road to work for you? No. You avoid it, drive around it, and go down the roads that let you, that welcome you.

Life really isn’t any different.

3 thoughts on “Life, The Road, And The 5%”

What do you think?

