Honestly, I Don’t Know Why You Put Up With Me

Oh sweetheart, what’s troubling you?
You’ve been so brave in the face of all the ways I have caused your life to be miserable
I am so sorry
I didn’t mean to be solely responsible for your pain and suffering
All those nasty things I’ve done
How could I assert myself like that?
How dare I acquire friends without your approval!
Why should you be expected to handle issues that come up?
You shouldn’t, not from that pedestal shaped like a cross
As I said, I’m terribly sorry
I didn’t mean to exist in real life
I humbly apologize for not just being good enough to provide you a comfortable life
And instead, being possessed of ambition, striving for something better all the time
I’m sorry I ran out of energy after thousands of times offering support and getting none in return
I’m sorry that this relationship is a dictatorship
It’s true, I do all the driving and I don’t only go where you tell me to go
From the back seat
I’ll be sure to remove any reflective surfaces while you’re considering who is responsible for your miserable life
You can have fun deciding which standards apply to you and which to everyone else, and attempting to paint a bleak picture for all your friends
How about if I hang that picture on the refrigerator?
Would that make you feel better?
You poor, poor thing

7 thoughts on “Honestly, I Don’t Know Why You Put Up With Me”

      1. Well I’m not sure of the precise Webster’s definition but it’s essentially where you say something quite different than what you mean not necessarily the opposite but pretty different and you’re you make it rather understated to emphasize your point and if you are doing it out loud you say it with this rancid honey dripping from your tongue

        Liked by 1 person

Share your amazing thoughts with me!

