Girl In Monotone

Painted views
Shades and hues
Colors swirl in synchronicity
Facing truth
Wasted youth
Yet possessed of such felicity
Shadows cast
Built to last
Try to get the modulation right
Search the past
The ocean is vast
She hopes it swallows her tonight

I dream of a time
I touch her skin
Feel a yearning from within
She’s shades of gray
Girl in monotone
Her face is the canvas
My fingers the brush
Our colors will change the both of us
She’s shades of gray
Girl in monotone

Chanting spells
Revealing tells
Open up those precious secrets
Hidden cells
Drawn parallels
Feeling absolutely no regrets
Bursting seams
Again, the dreams
Waking up to scars and experience
Saline streams
Sunlight beams
She hopes it makes a difference

I dream of a time
I touch her skin
Feel a yearning from within
She’s shades of gray
Girl in monotone
Her face is the canvas
My fingers the brush
Our colors will change the both of us
She’s shades of gray
Girl in monotone

Time lingers on
Whether we let go
Or hold on for dear life
What we say
We feel the same way
Shadows can’t exist without light
I reach out

I dream of a time
I touch her skin
Feel a yearning from within
She’s shades of gray
Girl in monotone
Her face is the canvas
My fingers the brush
Our colors will change the both of us
She’s shades of gray
Girl in monotone

10 thoughts on “Girl In Monotone”

  1. I was reading auroras comment above and I was going to expound just a bit because I tend to be extremely wordy on rare occasions.
    Definitely people change us, alter our perspectives, tiny bits all the time every day. It’s one thing I find fascinating about people on the days I like being alive. People need people. They might be the bane of our existence but they are also the colors of our existence.
    As she mentioned, even the most casual of interactions can affect us. But sometimes there are monumental shifts and rifts in our very core. Like the perfect storm of meetings so to speak and not only are we changed and affected minimally we are forever different and we recognize why. I’m so phenomenally thankful to the universe and all that makes things happen for dropping those people into my life

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never agreed more with anything you’ve said like that last sentence. And of course I agree with all else.
      We learn about ourselves from our interactions with other people, whether those interactions are positive or negative. When there are shifts in our core, it can be a little scary, but in a good way, like a roller coaster, or like skinny dipping at an unfamiliar beach during a dark cloudy night. 😉 Even while it’s happening, we know we’ll come out of it better, and afterwards, for the rest of our lives, we are glad we experienced that change. We are glad we met those people, sincerely, heart-singingly happy. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

