The enormity of performing has informed me you’re ignoring me again
I took the time to try to understand exactly when
The walls came down and it all started going south
And I stopped believing anything coming out of your mouth

Consumed and narcissistic
Is this the way you treat your friends?
I pretended not to notice
Hope you notice I no longer pretend
I couldn’t put it more plainly
Your Cleopatra syndrome is starting to drain me
So you believe in happy endings?
If it’s happy it doesn’t end

Bravery or slavery?
Afraid to be alone – aren’t we all?
Wish you could have seen it
When I saw the writing on the wall
I feel like a pinata full of fail
And you’ve got the bat
I never expected anything from you
And you sure lived up to that

Consumed and narcissistic
Is this the way you treat your friends?
I pretended not to notice
Hope you notice I no longer pretend
I couldn’t put it more plainly
Your one-sidedness is starting to drain me
So you believe in happy endings?
If it’s happy it doesn’t end

Good luck keeping up with everything you bothered to say
I’m like a mind fucked zero
You were planning not to call the next day
You say you feel bad and you’re so sorry
But I kind of doubt it
Why don’t you do without me for a while
Then come tell me about it?

Presumed optimistic
Is this the way you trick your friends?
I’ve been pretending not to notice
Don’t you get it – I don’t want to pretend
I couldn’t put it more plainly
Wouldn’t put up with more of this if you paid me
So you believe in happy endings?
If it’s happy it doesn’t end

 

