Did It Hurt When I Pushed You From Heaven?

Did it hurt when I pushed you from heaven?
You thought you just fell out of bed
I shoved you and loved you
I should feel remorse
I knocked the halo right off of your head

These clouds were becoming quite stormy
Silver linings are all you can see
I shamed you and blamed you
I wonder what wins
Between halo and horns and humanity

We’re all a little evil sometimes
A little mischief managed me I confess
That pedestal that I put you on
Was just so I could look up your address
I promise I meant you no harm
Unless that is what you required
Now I stand in this empty kitchen
Cooking for two over friendly fire

Did it hurt when I pushed you from heaven?
You thought you just had vertigo
I nudged you, misjudged you
Looked up at you from above
You looked down on me from below

Do lips do more good with the skin that they taste
Than harm with the tales they tell?
I missed you and kissed you
I couldn’t resist you
Surreptitiously, I’m the reason you fell

We all have our moments of panic
I needed sovereignty in these sheets
That pillow I put under you
Was just to bring your assets within reach
I promise I’d never hurt you
Except if you made a request
While you undress all my transgressions
Is there something you’d like to suggest?

5 thoughts on “Did It Hurt When I Pushed You From Heaven?”

Share your amazing thoughts with me!

